Jane Hirshfield

Jane Hirshfield (born 24 February 1953) is a modern American poet.  She has published several volumes of poetry, and has also worked on compilations, such as ‘Women in Praise of the Sacred’

Jane Hirshfield is the author of seven collections of poetry, including the new Come, Thief, published in August 2011, After (shortlisted for England’s T.S. Eliot Prize and named a “best book of 2006” by the Washington Post, the San Francisco Chronicle, and the London Financial Times), Given Sugar, Given Salt (finalist for the 2001 National Book Critics Circle Award), The Lives of the Heart, and The October Palace, as well as a book of essays, Nine Gates: Entering the Mind of Poetry. She also edited and co-translated four books containing the work of poets from the past: The Ink Dark Moon: Love Poems by Komachi & Shikibu, Women of the Ancient Court of Japan, Women in Praise of the Sacred: 43 Centuries of Spiritual Poetry by Women, Mirabai: Ecstatic Poems, and The Heart of Haiku, on Basho, named an Amazon Best Book of 2011. Her work appears in the 2013 editions of The Best Spiritual Writing, The Best American Poetry, and The Pushcart Prize Anthology.

Hirshfield’s other honors include The Poetry Center Book Award; fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller Foundations, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the Academy of American Poets; Columbia University’s Translation Center Award; and (both twice) the Commonwealth Club’s California Book Award and the Northern California Book Reviewers Award. In 2012 she received the Donald Hall-Jane Kenyon Prize in American Poetry.

She is a current chancellor of the Academy of American Poets.

“Hirshfield’s poems renew, reaffirm the power of language to move deeply, to articulate experience precisely . . . Her poems are meant to endure.”

— The Antioch Review

From: Steven Barclay Agency

Jane Hirshfield Poems

Jane Hirshfield Books at Amazon.com